Winners announced for the 2017 Volunteering Awards

The winners of the 2017 Southern Cross Television Tasmanian Volunteering Awards were announced at Government House, Hobart on Monday afternoon, 8 May 2017.

Celebrating and recognising Tasmania’s outstanding volunteers, the Awards are always held on the first day of National Volunteer Week, which runs until Sunday, 14 May 2017.

During the awards ceremony Alison Lai, chief executive officer of Volunteering Tasmania will pay tribute to the calibre of the winners and finalists in each category.

“We had a record number of nominations this year and the quality was very strong,” Lai said.

“It was a difficult process for the judges to shortlist to three finalists in each category, and equally difficult to select a winner.

“Each finalist demonstrated incredibly high standards of commitment and contribution to their community and we had exceptional representation from all regions of Tasmania.

“It was particularly pleasing to have finalists travel from as far away as Queenstown and King Island.

“The fact that we had winners from the north, north-west and south shows that the spirit of volunteering is alive and well right across Tasmania.”

The Premier’s Tasmanian Volunteer of the Year, chosen from the winners of the individual award categories, was awarded to Christopher Hine. Christopher is the winner of the Lifeline Emergency Services Award.


The 2017 winners and finalists are:


Lifeline Emergency Services Award
 David Gleeson – Lachlan Fire Brigade
 Christopher Hine – State Emergency Service (WINNER)
 Phillip de Bomford – Sheffield Fire Brigade

NRM South Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Award
 Mark Bartlett and Angela Knight – Bridgewater/Gagebrook Clean Up Group
 Nel Smit – Taroona Art Trail
 Dr Eric Woehler – BirdLife Tasmania (WINNER)

Anglicare Lifestyle Community Care and Health Award
 Kim Dunstan – Zeehan Gem and Mineral Fair
 Mary Gates – Royal Hobart Hospital
 Joy Searle – Mathers House Hobart (WINNER)

The Arts, Heritage and Tourism Award
 Ruby Doherty – North West theatre community
 Chris Palmer – Australian Wooden Boat Festival (WINNER)
 Dianne Powell – Queenstown Gallery Museum

The MyState Education, Science and Technology Award
 Hina and Waqas Durrani – Multicultural Council of Tasmania (WINNER)
 Amanda McMaster – YMCA Little Listeners Program
 Brother Sean McManus – CatholicCare’s Light the Way Study Club

The Sport and Recreation Award
 Tracy Badman – Devonport Gymnastics Club
 Tom Bain – Tamar Yacht Club
 Shaun Donohue – Deloraine Football Club (WINNER)

The Premier’s Volunteer of the Year
 Christopher Hine – State Emergency Service


Hydro Tasmania Excellence Award for Best Practice in Volunteer Management
 Shelley Haas – Royal Hobart Hospital (WINNER)
 Liz Lord – Australian Wooden Boat Festival
 Melody Towns – Be Hers

Tasplan Super Corporate Award for an employee volunteering program
 Hydro Tasmania (WINNER)
 Royal Automobile Club of Tasmania (RACT)
 University of Tasmania – Young Tassie Scientists

CatholicCare Volunteer Program of the Year
 King Island Meals on Wheels
 The Launceston Community Legal Centre (WINNER)
 The LCG: Older Persons Electronic Network Computer Club

Click here to read the stories behind our finalists.