Finalists Announced for the 2017 Southern Cross News Tasmanian Volunteering Awards

Volunteering Tasmania, Southern Cross News and the Tasmanian Government are delighted to announce this years’ finalists, listed by first name alphabetically:

The Arts and Heritage Award
Chris Palmer
Dianne Powell
Ruby Doherty

The MyState Education and Science Award
Amanda McMaster
Sean McManus
Hina and Waqas Durrani (joint nomination-duplicate role)

The Anglicare Lifestyle Community Care and Health Award
Joy Searle
Kim Dunstan
Mary Gates

The Lifeline Emergency Services and Disaster Recovery Award
Christopher Hine
David Gleeson
Philip de Bomford

The NRM South Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Award
Angela Knight and Mark Bartlett (joint nomination-duplicate role)
Eric Woehler
Nel Smit

The Sport and Recreation Award
Shaun Donohue
Tom Bain
Tracy Badman

The Hydro Tasmania Excellence Award – for best practice in volunteer management
Liz Lord
Melody Towns
Shelley Haas

The Tasplan Super Corporate Award – for an employee volunteering program
Hydro Tasmania
Royal Automobile Club of Tasmania
University of Tasmania: Young Tassie Scientists (YTS)

The CatholicCare Volunteer Program of the Year Award
Launceston Community Legal Centre: Legal Literacy Volunteers Program
Meals on Wheels Tasmania Inc. : King Island Volunteer Program
The LCG: Older Persons Electronic Network (OPEN) Computer Club Volunteer Program


Volunteering Tasmania and the category judges would like to acknowledge the amazing calibre of nominations in every category and would like to thank every nominator for their efforts in nominating and of course acknowledge the amazing efforts of all the volunteers that were nominated.   The judging process has been very difficult, however all decisions are final and no further correspondence will be entered into, as stated the Terms and Conditions of entry.

Volunteering Tasmania, her Excellency the Governor of Tasmania and representatives from the Department of Premier and Cabinet look forward to meeting finalists, their guests and their nominator at Government House on May 8, 2017 for the Awards ceremony. For all those who narrowly missed out on the finalist round, every individual nominee and nominated program will be receiving a Certification of Recognition and Appreciation, our way of saying thanks on behalf of all Tasmanians.