Winners announced for the 2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards

What an incredible day, celebrating some amazing volunteers and volunteer organisations.

The 2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards held at Government House acknowledge the valuable contribution volunteers make to the Tasmanian community and signifies the start of National Volunteer Week (20-26 May 2019).

Patron of Volunteering Tasmania, Her Excellency, Professor the Honourable Kate Warner, AC, Governor of Tasmania hosted the finalists, their nominators, industry sponsors and VIPs at the official Awards ceremony at Government House.

Winners were announced in 10 categories, including the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award presented in recognition of exemplary long-term commitment to the volunteering sector.

The Hon. Jacquie Petrusma MP, presented the 2019 Premier’s Volunteer of the Year Award to

Ms Tania Watson from Share the Dignity.

Ms Watson currently leads a team of 70 volunteers at Share the Dignity, a not-for-profit organisation that collects and distributes essential sanitary items and other necessities to 57 local charities that support women in Tasmania experiencing homelessness, survivors of domestic violence, or experiencing financial hardship.

“I believe no woman or girl should go without these basic necessities” Tania said.

Tania volunteers in addition to working full time as a teaching assistant in literacy support and studying for her associate degree in Education.

Volunteering Tasmania’s CEO Lisa Schimanski says “the impact of volunteering goes far beyond the gift of time from one person to another, it strengthens the social fabric of entire communities.”

“Tania and all the finalists and winners of today’s Awards embody the very spirit of this year’s National Volunteer Week theme making a world of difference, because indeed they do.” Lisa said.

The Awards are Tasmania’s only state-wide program that formally recognises excellence in volunteering and are supported by the State Government and valued sponsors.


The 2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Award winners are:


Premier’s Volunteer of the Year Award Winner

Tania Watson – Share the Dignity


Aurora Energy Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Edna Pennicott – Kingborough Helping Hands Inc.


Anglicare Tasmania Community Care and Health Award Winner

Tania Watson – Share the Dignity


Bulk Nutrients Sport and Recreation Award Winner

Shelley Miller – Athletics Tasmania


CatholicCare Tasmania Volunteer Program of the Year Award Winner     

Melanoma Tasmania


Hydro Tasmania Excellence Award for Best Practice in Volunteer Management

Di Mason- Melanoma Tasmania


Lifeline Tasmania Emergency Services Award         Winner

Kate Gillham – Tasmania Fire Service Campania Fire Brigade


Spirit of Tasmania Arts, Heritage and Tourism Award Winner

Shirley Baker – Friends of Deal Island Wildcare Inc.


TasTAFE Education, Science and Technology Award Winner

Jannie Fahey – Aurora Disability Service


Volunteering Tasmania Corporate and Civic Volunteering Award Winner

Aurora Energy


Volunteering Tasmania Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Award Winner

Anne & Peter Booth- Wildcare Inc.