2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards home page 2019-05-09T12:42:37+00:00

Finalists announced for the 2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards

Volunteering Tasmania, is delighted to announce this years’ finalists of the 2019 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards.

We would like to acknowledge the incredible calibre of nominations in every category and thank every nominator for their efforts. We received the highest number of nominations than ever before which is a testament to the incredible efforts of volunteers across the state.

The judging panel(s) had in incredibly difficult job this year and in some categories, there are more than three finalists.

For all those who narrowly missed out, every individual nominee and nominated program will be receiving a Certification of Recognition and Appreciation.

The winners will be announced at an official Awards ceremony at Government House on May 20, 2019

The finalists are: ( in alphabetical order )

Anglicare Tasmania Community Care and Health Award – Finalists

Ken Harriss                         Melanoma Tasmania

Lyn Shegog                         Make A Wish Hobart Branch

Tania Watson                    Share the Dignity

Aurora Energy Lifetime Achievement Award – Finalists

Beverley Allan                   Meals on Wheels Longford

Christine Knight               Calvary Health Care Tasmania

Douglas Renshaw            Bicheno Returned Services League (RSL) Sub-Branch

Rhonda Foster                   Bagdad Community Club

Kaye Fox                             Ambulance Tasmania

Edna Pennicott                 Kingborough Helping Hands Inc.

Bulk Nutrients Sport and Recreation Award – Finalists

Shelley Miller                     Athletics Tasmania

Jason Schmidt                    Hurricanes Inclusion Cup

Christine Timms                Parkrun Australia

CatholicCare Tasmania Volunteer Program of the Year Award   – Finalists

Australian Wooden Boat Festival (AWBF) Volunteer Program

Cancer Council Tasmania – transport2treatment Program

Meals on Wheels

Melanoma Tasmania

Hydro Tasmania Excellence Award for Best Practice in Volunteer Management – Finalists

Michael Barnes                 Meals on Wheels Longford

Di Mason                             Melanoma Tasmania

Lisa Plohl                             Huon Valley (Ranelagh) Animal Evacuation Centre – Huon Valley Council

Lifeline Tasmania Emergency Services Award  – Finalists  

Damien Almond                St John Ambulance Australia (Tasmania) Inc.

Kate Gillham                      Tasmania Fire Service Campania Fire Brigade

Robert  Jordan                  Ambulance Tasmania King Island Volunteers

Spirit of Tasmania Arts, Heritage and Tourism Award – Finalists

Shirley Baker                      Friends of Deal Island Wildcare Inc.

Brenda Boyle                     Calvary Health Care Tasmania

Mary Machen                    The Tamar Valley Writers Festival

Allen Rust                           Tasmanian Sail Training Association

TasTAFE Education, Science and Technology Award – Finalists

Jannie Fahey                     Aurora Disability Service

Bethany Innes                   The Smith Family

David Kewley                     Beacon Foundation

Volunteering Tasmania Corporate and Civic Volunteering Award – Finalists

Aurora Energy

Hydro Tasmania


Volunteering Tasmania Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Award – Finalists

Anne & Peter Booth        Wildcare Inc.

Alison Curtis-Godillon    Wombat Rescue Tasmania

Toni Johnstone                 Tasmanian Lost Pet Register

Susan Weeding                 Old Beach Scout Group

For any questions on these Awards, click to review our frequently asked questions, email us or call us on 1800 677 895, 9-4pm Monday through Thursdays.

Resources to help promote the Awards (posters, graphics, etc) can be downloaded here.

These awards would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors.

Click to read the history of the Tasmanian Volunteering Awards or read the amazing stories behind the 2018 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards.

The Tasmanian Volunteering Awards are an initiative of Volunteering Tasmania and are supported by the Department of Premier and Cabinet.


DPAC logo