2018 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards 2018-12-05T10:44:15+00:00

Winners announced for the 2018 Southern Cross Television Tasmanian Volunteering Awards

Volunteering Tasmania, Southern Cross Television and the Tasmanian Government are delighted to list this years’ finalists and winners, listed alphabetically below.  Click here to read the stories behind the finalists, click here to read the media release announcing the winners.

Photos of the ceremony held at Government House on Monday 22 May can be viewed on this page.

We would like to sincerely thank all those that participated in the Awards in 2018, and ask that all Tasmanians help us celebrate not just the award nominees but every volunteer across Tasmania, for their wonderful and inspiring dedication to volunteering.

Every effort, large or small, makes a positive difference.

Lifeline Tasmania, Emergency Services Award Finalists:

  • Dallas Baker OAM – Lachlan Brigade, Tasmania Fire Service
  • Barry Bishop – Ambulance Officer, Nubeena
  • Rodney McLean – Glengarry Volunteer Fire Brigade – WINNER

Hydro Tasmania, Excellence Award for Best Practice in Volunteer Management Finalists:

  • Abi Binning – Executive Officer, Wide Angle Tasmania
  • Christine Gimblett – President, Lions Club of Brighton
  • Liz Lord – Volunteers Coordinator, Australian Wooden Boat Festival Inc – WINNER

Volunteering Tasmania, Corporate Award Finalists:

  • Hydro Tasmania – WINNER
  • MyState Bank
  • Tenants Union of Tasmania

CatholicCare Tasmania, Volunteer Group or Program Award Finalists

  • Kingborough Council, Kingborough Volunteer Program (KVP) (Tricia Jay)
  • RSL Launceston sub branch – Australian Defence Force Welfare Team (Nadia Titley) – WINNER
  • Tamar Island Wetlands Centre (TIWC) Volunteer CARes group (John Duggin)

NRM South, Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Award Finalists

  • Norma Baker – Wildlife Carer, North East – WINNER
  • Matthew Dell – South West Coast Marine Debris Clean Up
  • Michelle Jesson – North East Animal Sanctuary

Anglicare Tasmania, Community Care and Health Award Finalists

  • Campbell Remess – Project 365
  • Stephen Thiessen – Primrose Sands RSL Sub-branch
  • Leslie Williams – Huntington’s Disease Association Tasmania – WINNER

Bulk Nutrients, Sport and Recreation Award Finalists

  • Shane Askew – Coordinator, Burnie Surf Lifesaving Club – WINNER
  • Chris Dalton – Sole Mates
  • David Searle – President, Baseball Tasmania

TasTAFE Education, Science and Technology Award Finalists

  • Fiona Armstrong – Tutor, Glenorchy LINC and 26TEN – WINNER
  • Ian Shaw – Adult Literacy/Learning Mentor, New Norfolk LINC and 26TEN Derwent Valley Action Group
  • Leone Scrivener -Tutor, The University of the Third Age – Hobart

Tourism Industry Council of Tasmania Arts, Heritage and Tourism Award Finalists

  • Dallas Baker OAM – Friends of Deal Island Wildcare Inc
  • Trevor Clark OAM – President, Exeter Show Society – WINNER
  • Allan and Marg  Leeson – Cradle Coast Authority, Australian Masters Games, Cruise Ship guides


Southern Cross Television logo

The Tasmanian Volunteering Awards are an initiative of Volunteering Tasmania and are supported by the Department of Premier and Cabinet.  These awards would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors.